Tags

REVOLUTION RULES INTERPRETATION SHEET

Select the rules interpretation you are using for this game of Revolution for each of the issues listed below.

6.1 Raise taxes
A. Players can choose a city tax rate from 1 to 3 that would cause their tax total to exceed their stock of pieces. In such cases their entire stock is moved as money to their treasury.
B. Players must set their city tax rate at a level from 1 to 3 that allows them to collect the exact amount of tax due to them.

6.2.2 Huguenot Interception of Spanish Treasury
A. When a piece in the Huguenots Support Box intercepts pieces being moved from the Spanish Treasury Support Box, the money received by the intercepting faction is the piece from the Huguenots Support Box.
B. A piece in the Huguenots Support Box remains in place after successfully raiding pieces being moved from the Spanish Treasury Support Box. The money received by the intercepting faction is a piece from the stock of the receiving player.

6.3 Maintaining Armies
A. When “looting a town” the player selects any Province and adds a Neutral piece to it.
B. When “looting a town” the player selects any Province with a Town and adds a Neutral piece to that Province.
C. When “looting a town” a player selects any Province in the Region the abandoned Army is in and adds a Neutral piece to it.
D. When “looting a town” a player selects any Province with a Town in the Region the abandoned Army is in and adds a Neutral piece to that Province.

Abandoned Armies (relevant to 6.3, 6.5, 6.7, 6.9)
A. Abandoned Armies occupy a space in the Command Block until the end of the turn but are otherwise ignored. Ignore the following four questions.
B. Abandoned Armies occupy a space in the Command Block and to continue to participate in “involuntary” actions such as Battles between Armies and Military Influence until the end of the turn. Answer the following four questions.

a) Abandoned Armies are involved in Battles between Armies as the “most opposed” Army of their faction.
b) Abandoned Armies are involved in Battles between Armies as the “least opposed” (most centrally located in the Command Block) Army of their faction.

a) Abandoned Armies will fight Armies of the faction that previously controlled them.
b) Abandoned Armies will not fight Armies of the faction that previously controlled them.

a) Abandoned Armies count when determining the “total number of Armies” for 6.7.1 and 6.7.2, and prohibit Water beggar activity under 6.7.3.
b) Abandoned Armies do not count when determining the “total number of Armies” for 6.7.1 and 6.7.2 and do not prohibit Water beggar activity under 6.7.3.

a) Abandoned Armies do not block exercise of Military Influence by other Armies in the Command Block.
b) Abandoned Armies do block exercise of Military Influence by Armies of other factions in the Command Block but do not block exercise of Military Influence by Armies of the faction that previously controlled them.
c) Abandoned Armies do block exercise of Military Influence by other Armies in the Command Block including Armies of the faction that previously controlled them.

6.10 New Units
A. On turns 1-5, the holder a Province Card can put any number of available resource pieces into the Province so long as that faction already had resource pieces in that Province at the start of this phase.
B. On turns 1-5, the holder of the Province Card can put any number of available resource pieces into the Province, even if that faction has no resource pieces in that Province at the start of this phase.

6.10 New Units
A. Units in Cities count for determination of the placement limit. Go to following question.
B. Units in Cities do not count for determination of the placement limit. Ignore following question.

6.10 New Units
A. Units in Cities under Siege count for determination of the placement limit.
B. Units in Cities under Siege do not count for determination of the placement limit.

6.12 Neutral (uncommitted) Pieces
A. Units in Cities under Siege count for determination of when the Province Limit is reached.
B. Units in Cities under Siege do not count for determination of when the Province Limit is reached.

6.13 Overflow
A. Neutral pieces count when determining whether the Province Limit has been reached in terms of blocking Overflow into a Province.
B. Neutral pieces do not count when determining whether the Province Limit has been reached in terms of blocking Overflow into a Province.

6.14 Movement within Provinces
A. Neutral pieces in the Province at the start of this phase may be freely positioned by players within the Province, except that no piece may enter or leave a City under Siege, and if a previous player has positioned a Neutral piece somewhere later players may not move it.
B. Neutral pieces initially remain where they are. Movement by players of Neutral pieces may only be from Cities or Towns to the Countryside. Neutral pieces may be locked into place by earlier players even where the Neutral piece has not physically moved.
C. Neutral pieces initially remain where they are. Movement by players of Neutral pieces may only be from Cities or Towns to the Countryside. Neutral pieces may always be moved from Cities or Towns to the Countryside by players (ie a Neutral piece that has not been moved in this phase cannot be locked into place).

6.14 Movement within Provinces
A. The Neutral pieces used to fill up vacant Cities and Towns at the end of this phase are drawn from the Neutral stock. If insufficient Neutral pieces are available to fill vacant Cities and Towns, the first player in game turn order chooses which positions are filled first.
B. The Neutral pieces used to fill up vacant Cities and Towns at the end of this phase are drawn from Neutral pieces in the Countryside of the Province. If insufficient Neutral pieces are available in the Countryside, Neutral pieces are taken from Cities (not under Siege) in the Province that are also occupied by at least one piece of a player faction. If after this there are still unoccupied places, they remain unoccupied. If insufficient Neutral pieces are available to fill vacant Cities and Towns, the first player in game turn order chooses which positions are filled first.

6.15 Resolve Sieges
A. If there were more than two pieces in the City that was just taken by Siege the excess are replaced by Neutral pieces.
B. If there were more than two pieces in the City that was just taken by Siege the excess are replaced by Neutral pieces, except for any pieces of the successfully besieging faction which remain in place (in addition to the (up to) two pieces converted by the successful Siege).

6.16 Influence
A. A marker on the Allegiance of Citizens Track may not end the phase more than 3 spaces from the space it started on.
B. The maximum move of a marker on the Allegiance of Citizens Track as a result of any single faction’s expenditure is 3 spaces. A marker on the Allegiance of Citizens Track may end the phase more than 3 spaces from the space it started on.

6.17 Assign Provinces and Cities
A. On Turns 1-5 all pieces in the Province count for determining Province control.
B. On Turns 1-5 only pieces in Towns and the Countryside count in determining Province control (same as Turn 0).
C. On Turns 1-5 only pieces in the Countryside count for Province control.

6.18 Assign Bishoprics
A. A status marker may only be moved one space per game turn.
B. When no faction or the Neutral playing pieces are in the majority a black status marker is placed in the Catholic space even if this represents a move of more than one space in a turn.

6.18 Assign Bishoprics
A. Movement of a Bishopric’s status marker is determined by which faction holds the Province Card of the Province the Bishopric is in.
B. Movement of a Bishopric’s status marker is determined by which faction has a majority in the Countryside of the Province the Bishopric is in.

6.20 Status Phase
A. If two or more factions have the same amount of victory points they have a free choice of their game turn order and the sequence in which they make their choice is determined by the current game turn order.
B. If two or more factions have the same amount of victory points their relative game turn positions to each other remain the same as for the current turn and the first of the tied factions in the current game turn order chooses their position in the game turn order.

Advertisements