Tags

, , , , , , ,

It has been a long time since I managed to play in any campaign, either role playing for miniatures. The tyranny of distance and time has conspired to make my circle of friends tiny, with divergent interests and time schedules making linking games together in any meaningful period of time difficult.

But, as Lord Percy said when asked how he was going to master the art of alchemy, transmuting lead  into gold in a single afternoon, “I like a challenge”.

Thrilling Tales has a magnificent scenario builder. Not quite as clear as one might want in some cases, and a little repetitious in others, but overall it is a great piece of work. I heartily recommend it. Using this core idea, even with the table entries as they stand, you can build a pretty interesting story arc. Thrilling Tales is built for inter-war ‘pulp’ adventure and if that is your bag, as it is mine, then every dice roll speaks magic.

However, the specific scenarios are designed for a role-playing game. However (2), it is designed for the Savage Worlds system which is intended to be a skirmish war-game system at the same time. However (3), Savage Worlds talks about Plot Point campaigns: set ups that lead the players through a semi-structured ‘plot’ which allows a peripheral ‘sand box’ play. This is arguably a perfect world, unless you have a magical group that all want to just live and explore and just soak up the majesty of the fantasy world created (man – how I remember those heady high-school days). However (4), the Plot Point campaign is not really described particularly well in anything I have read. I do appreciate the idea, but the actual implementation remains obscure to me.

Being an organisational person, I drew a picture. You can see it here: plot point campaign.  In this, I propose 6 (miniatures) games in a sequence make up a campaign. This campaign is tied to a setting, with a beginning, middle and end, with each game leading to the next.

For Flashing Steel (still in the pipe works at Ganesha) I built the three game campaign, but this is significantly different. Ganesha games are particularly man on man skirmish, and are designed to be friendly ‘pick up and play’ style. They are excellent short games – we get through a scenario in 40 minutes – so you can play a mini-campaign in a night. Not so a Savage Worlds game which is longer, though admittedly not the length of a dreary big-battle taking a full night for four moves.

The campaign skeleton I threw together today wants testing. No doubt. The real test is to build a story arc into it and have it play tested. Now all I need to do is get my friends to have interest in a single topic for more than a few days or, alternatively, pick a topic for which I have enough figures…

