Tags

, , , ,

 

AD&D

Favourite edition.

I started with first edition AD&D. gradually I collected the entire set of core books.

When 2nd edition came out I failed to see the purpose of Proficiencies. The idea of character classes has always seemed to me to be a matter of Risus cliches. “You are a fighter. You can do everything a fighter can do. Tell me about what you think you can do.”

Then life intervened for many years, and when I started to think about it again 3rd edition was just starting. Pretty soon the idea that you needed a computer program to generate a character struck me as a direction that I could not be bothered pursuing. Who needs that many rules? The rules just get in the way of telling stories.

And now I find that I am not alone in these ideas. Now there is an interest in “O” D&D, for original. And the best of these seems to be Swords & Wizardry. This set takes it right back to before AD&D. The rules are ridiculously simple. Classes are no more than cliches.

Make rulings, not rules, runs the advice.

And that is where I am today.

