Tags

, , , , , , ,

I have never really been a fan of of new Year’s resolutions. Anything you want to do you should just do. If you have to pick something that suddenly needs to be reformed while in a drunken haze at midnight once a year there is a very fair chance of doing that exact same thing in the immediate following weekend (such as stopping smoking, drinking or fornicating).

However, I have been thinking about what I want to achieve this year for my gaming and business activities. Without making them resolutions and keeping them just as a general to-do task list, they are:

  1. pimpernelComplete Scarlet Pimpernel for Ganesha Games.  This is written and in for review. As far as i can tell there is an art sourcing and page setting exercise to complete. For practical purposes my part is probably done. But I put it first as I want it to be finished and out of my mind – plus i am looking forward to hearing about the games that get played using it.
  2. threemusketeersComplete Forged in Blood, the big skirmish Renaissance set for Ganesha. This is now in an advanced draft stage with the first good draft finished. Lots of good feedback received and this, along with a few extra sections such as some sample completed armies are now my focus. this too has taken a long time to get to this point through no-one’s particular fault. But I am eager to see it through to the finish line.Diplomacy
  3. Run a play by email Diplomacy session. The players are all lined up. I have created some anonymous email addresses for them. Everything is ready to go as soon as everyone gets back to work and are lined up to start. This is a rather old fashioned effort – email, chat, two week turn around – but I am looking forward to running this for this new audience. The intensity that can be generated by this method, and the solidity of having a map physically updated with ink and coloured pencils and then scanned in, is something that cannot be recreated in an online auto-update tool – though there are many out there that are very good.
  4. kong-skull-islandRun a role playing game set on the equivalent of Skull Island, in a pulp setting, using Savage Worlds, most probably through a virtual tabletop. This has been a desire of mine for as long as I can remember, but I have had difficulty mustering the players to the task. A virtual tabletop will allow players from remote locations to take part. 
  5. Mob2Work on my near future hard science fiction setting. The ultimate goal of this is to have enough for publication either through directly approaching a current publisher, or through a crowd sourcing mechanism if I decide to go alone. Much writing is required here, and I need to just chip away at it over this and next year to get a sufficient body of work together.block wargame
  6. Play some serious boardgames. There are several great titles on my shelf such as Friedrich that need to be given an airing before I die.
  7. And last but by no means least, I must continue my Monster Alphabet, update the Flashing Steel blog concerning Scarlet Pimpernel and Forged in Blood progress, and probably retire some sites/entries concerning such stillborn efforts as Jurassic Reich (shame – it had such promise).
